Snider Mill

Location: St. Jacobs

Status: Open as a retail outlet

Waypoint: Google Map

Summary: The Pioneer Roller Flouring Mill was established by Elias W.B. Snider in 1870, on the banks of the Conestogo River in St. Jacobs. This was the first mill in Canada to export its prime quality flour to Glasgow, Liverpool and Belfast.

Today the silos and main mill structure have been converted into an exceptionally picturesque retail outlet for the village's gifted craftspeople. The mill race still leads to the mill and a scenic pathway extends upstream to the mill dam on the main river. Until recently, the mill could still generate its own electric power from the river.