Elora Mill Inn

Location: Elora

Status: Coverted to a Inn and restaurant

Waypoint: Google Map

Summary: The original mill at the head of the Elora Gorge was constructed in 1833 and portions of the present structure date back to 1842. The Drimmie Mill as it became known, was made famous in the 1930s by a painting by noted Canadian Group of Seven artist A.J. Casson. The mill operated until 1974 and the five storey stone facade makes it the highest "stone rubble" wall west of Montreal.

Today, the mill has been transformed into a magnificent inn with 32 guest rooms, many with antique furniture, along with modern conveniences that include fireplaces and Jacuzzi tubs. The Elora Mill still contains a small hydro plant, generating its own electricity. Nearby are the quaint shops of Mill Street in Elora, offering much for the shopper to see and explore.

The ruin near Elora Mill

The ruin near Elora Mill

The "Tooth of Time"