Inglis Grist Mill

Location: Owen Sound

Status: Converted into Galleries and Art Atudios

Waypoint: Google Map

Summary: In 1843, five years after the founding of Sydenham Village (now the City of Owen Sound), 30 year old Peter Inglis emigrated to Canada and settled in this area. This enterprising young Scotsman and millwright saw the potential of harnessing the powerful cascade of the Sydenham River. In 1845 Inglis purchased a small existing grist mill built two years previously by a Mr. Boyd, and 300 acres of deeded Crown land. It was in 1862 that Inglis replaced the old gristmill with a new four-storey mill that produced flour, bran and shorts (feed for animals). The woollen mill was destroyed by fire around 1885. It was rebuilt only to burn down again in 1901, he woollen mill was never rebuilt.

Management of the mill was passed on to Inglis' oldest son, William A., in 1886. William's son, Victor, managed the mill until 1932. Eighty-seven years of steady operation under the Inglis family name is an amazing record which very few industries in this area of the province can surpass or equal. In 1932, the property was obtained by the City of Owen Sound for water rights. The mill was idle for two years, until purchased by Emil Henkel. He ran the mill until 1945 when a fire completely destroyed it. In 1960 the former North Grey Region Conservation Authority (now the Grey Sauble Conservation Authority) acquired what is presently the Inglis Falls Conservation Area. Today all that remains of that earlier industrial scene are the family home, a stone building, the silent millstones and the enduring beauty of Inglis Falls.